feehatesrain

but she loves everything else…

Really easy Roulade.. of the Chocolate variety

on April 25, 2012

When it comes to chocolate I have a weakness.  When it comes to cake I have a weakness.  When you add fresh cream to chocolate and cake its sayonara baby, you lost me.. my head drifts into happy place where cosy slippers, cups of tea and cake eating reign supreme.

Back in the real world however, this brings me nicely onto last weeks Weekly Bake Off Challenge set by the lovely Amy.  Amy is baking and making her way through Mary Berry’s 100 Cakes & Bakes and is happily asking twitter friends and followers to join her on her journey.  Each week Amy chooses a bake and whoever wants to join in works their magic and sends a wee pic of the results to Amy to show off on her blogspot.

This was my second week of taking part, you can see my original efforts on my Hot Cross Buns post.  I love the fact that taking part encourages me to try new recipes and techniques with thus far really tasty results! The Kiwi is loving this new found love of baking… I might even get a KitchenAid yet!

So the Chocolate Roulade, it had my name all over it.  Creamy choclately cakey goodness, yes please..

Here’s what you need

  • 175g (6 oz) plain chocolate, broken into pieces
  • 175g (6 oz) caster sugar
  • 6 eggs, separated
  • 30 ml (2 level tbsp) cocoa, sieved
  • 300ml (10 fl oz) double cream
  • Icing sugar


Firstly you need to grab a swiss roll tin and line it with baking paper.  Marys suggests a 13 x 9 inch tin, mine was a wee bit bigger so although my roulade was thinner it rolled up a treat!

Next its chocolate time.  The recipe calls for plain chocolate but for for me there is nothing more luxurious and slightly naughty than a bar of dark Green & Blacks, rich, strong, and as I have now found, absolutely mouthwatering in this bakey treat.

Melt the choc over a pot of simmering water and allow to cool slightly.

To the egg yolks add the sugar and mix until really creamy, I used my hand mixer.  Once the mix was thick I added the cooled melted chocolate and stirred well.

Next up is the egg whites, Mary says whisk them in your mixer until they are stiff white peaks, not too dry though…. I wasn’t really sure what ‘not too dry’ meant?! I tipped the bowl upside down and they didnt fall out… I thought bonus, must be ready!

So far so good, stiff egg whites and thick egg yolks… check..

Once you have the chocolatey yolk mixture ready you should mix in two spoonful of egg whites to loosen the mixture before folding the rest of the egg whites in to make a rather unattractive brown sloppy concontion.  At this stage I was wondering what the hell Amy.. and Mary for that matter was on… however I bashed on.

So into the pan and in the oven to bake for 20 minutes or so… fingers and toes well and truely crossed!

And result… after a wee while a sheet of luscious dark sponge emerged.

The recipe states that you are best to leave the sponge over night covered with a damp tea towel, I did this however laid a cooling rack over the baking tin so the tea towel stayed off the sponge.  The next morning rolling and preeening was all that was required.

I was well chuffed by this stage, my first attempt at a roulade and it was looking.. thank the lord….like it could quite easily turn into a roulade! Happy Days!

Next came the tricky bit however… not whipping the cream, not slicing the strawberries… but to roll the bugger!

and then one final roll, a dash of icing sugar, a lovely plate and… Ta Da.. my first ever Choclate Roulade with fresh cream and Strawberries….. do I sounds smug?? … thats because I am…I made this!!  Cheers Mary!

3 responses to “Really easy Roulade.. of the Chocolate variety

  1. mags says:

    it tasted delicious x

  2. Wow, you have every right to be smug, that is one superb looking roulade!

Leave a Reply

